Tuesday, January 19, 2010


Lately, I've been reading that historical fiction is on the decline. This is not the sort of thing that makes my day. But I keep writing history anyway.

And I feel vindicated when The American Library Association confers coveted awards on so many history titles (both fiction & non) as it did yesterday.

Newbery Medal for most outstanding contribution to children’s literature *When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead,

Newbery Honor Books
*Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose
*The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly;
*The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick

Printz Honor Books:
*Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman,
*The Monstrumologist” by Rick Yancey
*Tales of the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973 by John Barnes,

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults
*Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshall by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson,

King Author Honor Book
*Mare’s War by Tanita S. Davis

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award
*The Rock and the River, by Kekla Magoon,

Jim Murphy is the 2010 Edwards Award winner for lifetime achievement in wring for young adults. His books include:
*An American Plague: The True and Terrifying Story of the Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1793,
*Blizzard! The Storm That Changed America
*The Great Fire
*The Long Road to Gettysburg
*A Young Patriot: The American Revolution as Experienced by One Boy

You can see complete lists of the youth media awards here.

And do keep your eyes open for more quality history writing in the future - including mine!


  1. thanks for the list. More compact than on the AASL site.